RSA Triathlon team to 2016 Olympics

By Triathlon South Africa | 26 Jul, 2016

SASCOC on Thursday, 14 July, announced an additional 113 athletes to the Team South Africa squad that will carry the nation’s flag at the 2016 Olympic Games to be held from 5-21 August in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil.

The Triathlon Team selected to go to the Olympics are as follows:

Women: Gillian Sanders, Mari Rabie

Men: Richard Murray, Henri Schoeman

Manager/Coach: Kate Roberts, Lindsey Parry

SASCOC President Gideon Sam congratulated all the members of the Olympic squad: “You have all earned the ultimate honour of representing your country. We have every faith in you excelling at your various events. Attending the Olympics is the pinnacle of a sportsman’s dream. Go and showcase the rainbow nation to the best of your ability.”
Tubby Reddy, SASCOC CEO and Chef de Mission congratulated the final team: “Congratulations to all athletes who have had the honour to be selected as part of Team South Africa and compete in this prestigious sporting event.
‘We’re confident that the team is the creme de la creme of sporting talent, with most of them having represented the country in international sporting events previously. We therefore wish them well and as the Olympic body we will rally behind you all the way. Do the country proud and go well,” Reddy concluded.
Managing and coaching additions to the squad are also hugely experienced personnel who have occupied these positions previously in different sporting events.
An incentive programme has been designed to incentivise athletes to medal at the Olympic and Paralympic Games.

All medallists at both Olympic and Paralympic Games will receive incentives as follows:

Individual medal winner:

                                             Athlete             Coach
Gold:        R500 000       R400 000       R100 000
Silver:      R250 000       R200 000       R 50 000
Bronze:     R100 000       R 80 000       R 20 000

The incentive amount received will be split 80% to the athlete and 20% to the coach of that specific athlete. This principle was established with the understanding that the Coach plays an important role in coaching and mentoring the Athlete and hence the coach incentive of 20%.

Team events and Relay event winners:

In the case a medal is won by a team event or a relay team which counts as one medal, the incentive amount will also be as follows:

                                             Athlete             Coach
Gold:        R500 000       R400 000       R100 000
Silver:      R250 000       R200 000       R 50 000
Bronze:     R100 000       R 80 000         R 20 000

80% of the incentive amount received will be paid to the athletes and must be equally split between the team’s or relay team’s athletes. And 20% of the incentive amount will be paid to the head coach of that specific sport code.

– See more at:

Related Event: Rio de Janeiro 2016 Olympic Games
18 - Aug, 2016 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Alistair Brownlee GBR 01:45:01
2. Jonathan Brownlee GBR 01:45:07
3. Henri Schoeman RSA 01:45:43
4. Richard Murray RSA 01:45:50
5. Joao Pereira POR 01:45:52
6. Marten Van Riel BEL 01:46:03
7. Vincent Luis FRA 01:46:12
8. Mario Mola ESP 01:46:26
9. Aaron Royle AUS 01:46:42
10. Ryan Bailie AUS 01:47:02
Results: Elite Women
1. Gwen Jorgensen USA 01:56:16
2. Nicola Spirig SUI 01:56:56
3. Vicky Holland GBR 01:57:01
4. Non Stanford GBR 01:57:04
5. Barbara Riveros CHI 01:57:29
6. Emma Moffatt AUS 01:57:55
7. Andrea Hansen NZL 01:58:15
8. Flora Duffy BER 01:58:25
9. Claudia Rivas MEX 01:58:28
10. Rachel Klamer NED 01:58:55